A living Marriage


Image

Marriage was designed by God to create a shame free place for an imperfect man and an imperfect woman to rest in perfect harmony under the blood of Christ. 

My life was not given to my wife nor was her life given to me, we were joined to become one flesh. We are designed for one another to complement each other and merge as one to show Gods Love for the church as a real life example through our marriage.  My job in marriage is to hold my wife up as a gift from God, and cherish as Christ does the church.  It is our human nature is to look at marriage as “take it or leave it”, so it is our duty to fight the darkness of the world and stay as one flesh. Even our own eyes as a man will deceive us just as the heart of a woman will lead the best wives away from the marriage if not rooted in a foundation built on Gods promise.

 

My eyes and my lust will be my downfall without knowing and believing in the life God has promised me. There is no question that I was designed to join with my wife, it is far beyond simple words or feelings of love. My words can deceive, my feelings will change but what is “right and true” does not. We fit together in a way only described as divine and that is not refutable or of this world.

 

We were not saved at the time of our marriage and were far from good people. We hurt one another, friends and family with no care in the world about anyone but ourselves. However God had plans for us, plans to take us from the sin filled life and to make a real life example of his view of marriage, to show the world his glory! Without that we are simply another couple struggling to stay as two separate individuals in a marriage created to be one flesh founded on the word and covered by the  blood of Christ. 

My struggles are her struggles and my downfalls are her downfalls. I am designed to sacrifice my mind and body for the fight to keep our marriage pure. Although our fights will not be the same, “man and woman” the goal is. My goal is to remain husband to my wife until death takes one of us, and only faith and guidance in the words of Jesus will help us to achieve our goal. 

For so long I had the mindset that it was my job to keep my wife happy, only to fail a large amount of the time, quickly leading me to think there was something wrong with me as a man and husband.

My thinking is beginning to change, my focus becoming more about the word and my efforts on leading my home as a man following Jesus. By this I’m not saying taking charge and forcing my family to listen to what I say or being a tyrant over them. More like striving to become an example of Jesus, learning to be the man he has designed me to be.

Followers of Jesus didn’t follow him because it was the easy thing to do, it was because they heard the word and believed in the promises of Jesus. Same is true for today, we all strive and hold on to the words allowing it to separate us from the world. Not because it’s the easy way to live, but because we believe the words written about this man Jesus and the promises only he can provide.

One thought on “A living Marriage

  1. Pingback: Thinking about marriage from God’s perspective | The fragrance of marriage!

Feel free to comment,

