The Difference I want to be


IMAG3489

The important work of moving the world forward does not wait to be done by perfect men. – George Eliot

What a great reminder that there is success in failure! I need to tattoo this somewhere….
I tend to hold myself to an unrealistic level of accountability, not only for myself but with others in my life. I am learning to realize that there is in most cases positivity in what seems to be a negative situation. It has been called provision and it has been said that there is provision in every situation.

In the moment “heated or not” it is hard to calm my mind enough to allow myself to see the provision in any situation, I usually think of it as chance or dumb luck. Finding the positive in any appealingly negative situation is not my first choice; my mind tends to drift to the worst case.

Hearing the word provision seems to me a bit “out of place” when used in the context of a hardship.

Provision:

A preparatory step taken to meet a possible or expected need:

The act of providing or supplying something:

Something provided or supplied.

Living as a father and a husband, life is not what I had expected. In most cases I feel blessed far beyond what I deserve or have ever planned for and in other areas I thought it would be a bit less messy. I thought to myself in the past “I have it together”, the older I get that statement is seemingly farther and farther from the truth and THAT is the provision!  The provision lately has been wisdom, the wisdom and understanding that I need change and a renewed vision. Life if lived without a plan, goal or vision is seemingly meaningless. Like walking a path with no destination or direction in mind it can easily become misguided in the purpose we are in existence.

– Ecclesiastes 1:2 (NIV)

“Meaningless! Meaningless!”

says the Teacher.

“Utterly meaningless!

Everything is meaningless.”

Life lived without faith in that there is a much greater purpose and a reason for why we are where we are in life (wherever that may be) can be seemingly meaningless. If you remove faith (in anything, not only God) you limit your life to remain where you are. Having faith in something brings a driving purpose to life and having faith in the Lord brings a divine driving purpose. I have faith that one day I will provide assistance to others in need or guidance through life, marriage and raising a family. That is my vision and if I allow Jesus to guide me into that the little faith I bring to assist in that is nothing in comparison to the divine purpose God has planned for me.

I struggle with the battle between science and faith, no I do not believe in evolution or Darwin’s theory (not condoning anyone that does) I simply choose to put my faith in faith that God is who he says he is and that the plan is much better than I can imagine!

I catch myself thinking “one day, one day I will see the fruit of my labor in life” looking back I have been missing it all along. I am what my dreams were! I have an impact NOW, I have a wife, children, family and friends that read what I write and when I slow myself down enough to look, I am the difference I want to be.

Feel free to comment,

