Armor of Flesh


Featured image

When you think of armor you may think of the armor of a warrior or chainmail worn in battle or maybe its the body armor worn to protect a chest of a public safety officer.

Whatever it is that you think of when you think of armor one thing is for certain, human flesh is not on the list.

So why do we think that it is going to protect us at all in any battle. It was not designed to protect anything other than some of the elements and even those need to be mild at best.

Our flesh will not protect our heart’s, it does not protect what we see or hear and does a terrible job filtering its impact at all.  That is where our mind comes into play. Our thoughts can make it break us so to speak.

Have you ever had a thought or have been told something that you just couldn’t handle?
What did you do with it?
How did you overcome it?
Did you overcome it?
Did you allow it to change you?

Most likely it was a decision one day that you just were not going to let it hurt anymore or that you just had to move on.

That can mean many different things to many different people, it may be working on forgiving or separating from what it is that has harmed you.

Whatever it was that was the motivation, good chance it started with a decision, it started with a thought and ended in action.

Our thoughts can make or break us, thinking “this is never going to work” or “things will never be the same” that is exactly what you will get!

To change your thought is to change your action, you can chose to give up or you can choose to work, both come with consequences and both come at a price.

I have used my flesh for far too long in battle and to try to protect my heart from pain. My heart is open to attack because I am not protecting it properly.

I am not taking care of me enough.
I view my worth by how I am seen by others and my value is how I judge my self worth.

My tendency to put others first sets me up for pain, failure and to be used by others that need someone like me.

I take what I think of as the thought  “they need me” and take it to the next level, “I need them to need me”. This has ended up in a messy situation more often than not.

This year it is my goal is to learn to do 5 steps in my journey in growing.

1) value myself enough to have a voice, even if the outcome is not desired.

2) learn to love how I desire to love, not to learn “what others” desire as love.

3) be honest with myself about where I am going and where I want to go.

4) look for the good in every situation, when one door closes, another will open.

5) be who I say I am, and stand tall about what I stand for.

If the ones who say they love me are with me on the other side, it was meant to be. My hope is that these steps sort out the true from the fake and if I use God to direct me in all 5 of the steps I have faith that the outcome will be much better.

2015 is going to be a pivotal year in my life! I am putting my trust in God that he will lead me into and through this.

Feel free to comment,

