Looking Into The Dark


image

Laying in bed restlessly looking off into the dark, stirring, tossing and turning. Eyes shut but the mind is racing, what to do, what to do…

Playing every thought, all the possibilities,  situations and scenarios over and over like a movie I’ve seen 100 times before!

This is not how I would have liked to spend last night, and yet here I am, tired and drained. Glad tomorrow is a new day.

A new day has arrived and I feel damaged from the war of night, it has taken so much from me. Thoughts flooding my mind as I sip my morning coffee, “a choice has to be made”.

If only an action would show a clear path forward. Thoughts pondered and the steps need to be taken to make today anything different from the night before, a new start.

“It’s not the situation that’s causing your stress, it’s your thoughts, and you can change that right here and now. You can choose to be peaceful right here and now. Peace is a choice, and it has nothing to do with what other people do or think”. – Gerald Jampolsky

I claim this one today!
I stand on what this quote has to offer me. Feel today with my heart, don’t get caught up in your mind Scott..

My first goal today, (as I finish a large cup of coffee) is to find rest in the muck, to sit in the here and now to find rest in the fact that everything is as it should be. Minute by minute, hour by hour I repeat this quote and today will be a good day, breaking way to only a memory of last night and the excitement of a new day and a new chance to “make a fresh start”.

As the day continues on, seemingly endlessly I begin to see a change in the time I spend in the muck. Learning to see in the dark and to see clearly is more of a choice in what action I chose to take. More so than my circumstances!

I am not the child I once was, I am a new being with new choices and I am finding power in learning that my past does not define my future.

Looking into the dark, learning to see with my feelings not my mind.

Feel free to comment,

