100 Years


image

100 years from now will you matter?
After your life has passed, what will you be remembered for?

Will you be remembered for the pain and broken dreams you caused or will you be remembered for the trials and failures you overcame? Will your life be a legacy of hope and love or a legacy of pain and sorrow?

Remove religion, remove government persuasion, remove gender and denomination. From one human to another, think about who you will be thought of.

 

Sonia Johnson
“Remember that one determined person can make a significant difference, and that a small group of determined people can change the course of history”.

Albert Pike
“What we have done for ourselves alone dies with us; what we have done for others and the world remains and is immortal”.

Psalm 112:6

Surely he will never be shaken; a righteous man will be remembered forever.

If you would have asked me 20 years ago what I wanted to be remembered for it would have been a total different answer then I would give today. That in itself gives hope that plans change, people change and even our dreams change and my life is much better than I thought it would be as a teen.

We are not stuck where we are, it’s never too late to fix what has been broken. I have had 5,951 days that is equal to 16 years, 3 months and 15 days to start new with my wife, to mend what has been broken and to wake up next to her and try again.

At the age of 34 that is creeping up on half of my life with one person. The time spent together, the memories created and the life lessons learned are irreplaceable. That is my desire as my legacy, to have my children and grandchildren have the ability to look back and say “WOW, can you imagine what they have seen” and more importantly to be there with life experiences and to walk with them through the tough times.

I never want to miss seeing my daughters grow up, from losing their first tooth to the first boyfriend I want to be a part of it. I want to be that old man they call to watch the kids on date nights, to be the calm voice in the storm of life and to be an example of love to their mother. I want them to have an understanding of how to relate to a father and be an example of what a man should be. I want them to see a living example of Jesus and have a lifetime of memories to reach back to when times get hard. I would rather have few deep connections than many shallow.

What do you want to be remembered for, where will the next 100 years take you? It is in your hands.

Credit to the artist of this amazing piece of work: Hand drawn graphite on Duralar cast in layers of resin. Color made using layers of transparent tape. Brooks Salzwedel http://www.brookssalzwedel.com

Feel free to comment,

