The Supurb Love


image

Look back in your life at what you have done for love.

I’m sure there are good and bad memories and the things you don’t want to remember at all.

Focus the energy of today’s love on the positive actions associated with love, what you have done out of love, the sacrifices that have grown the love, the joy and the memories made because of all of it. Learn from the negative and fight to break the patterns formed out of it and develop a healthy love.

The greatest act of love is to sacrifice, to give, to exert energy and emotion for someone else with no return expected. When I think of the word love, desire comes to mind. The desire to “be something”, to someone, and it is up to you and the recipient of what you give to create that love. It doesn’t have to be romantic or sexual although the world portrays love as sex, every relationship in your life has a certain amount of love. We create the love between one another, like a balancing act of pushing and pulling, giving and taking; the dance of love.

This word is commonly thrown around and can lose it weight and meaning, like anything else, it has to be an action, not simply a word. I love you, and I sacrifice for you are not the same, one is a comment and one is an action. Love is hard to maintain, complacency and dullness can sneak in overtime and destroy what love is supposed to accomplish.

“Infuse your life with action.
Don’t wait for it to happen.
Make it happen.
Make your own future.
Make your own hope.
Make your own love.
And whatever your beliefs, honor your creator,
not by passively waiting for grace to come down from upon high,
but by doing what you can to make grace happen…
yourself, right now, right down here on Earth.”
– Bradley Whitford

So why am I writing about love?
Why spend the time to attempt to explain something so complex?

It is because I am trying to express the importance of the struggle of love and to stress how much it is needed in our lives. I know most of my readers are believers in God however that is where I will start. By love we are set free, Jesus was sent to earth in the form of a man born of a virgin and lived a sinless life, a perfect life only to be crucified by the ones he loved. Perfect example of love…

Christ could have said “see my son, see his life, perfect in every area  so now you all can see a sinless man” and let him return to the heavens. But he didn’t, he allowed us to beat him, spit on him, abuse his mind and body and betray him only to kill him and what did He say, “father forgive them, they know not what they do”. Love us to the end and all we give are the scraps of what we have left over from our lives. Let’s take a look at human nature, to use, abuse, take, and horde something that is given freely as a gift.

Look at the love in your life, look at what it is that you sacrifice for, is it enough? If the answer is yes your viewing love wrong, it should never be enough; it should never reach the goal and never stop. The way I love my wife and children are seen as “too much” by some, I say, was what Jesus did for us considered as too much? I give my life for my family freely, I was created to be a blessing to them and to bear my own cross for them, sacrifice for them. Yes I fail daily, yes I have my struggles with the when and how to love another and I’m willing to continue to learn what works and doesn’t work.

“We must be proactive in our love in order for it to change our lives.”
– Marianne Williamson

Love is a gift to give not something you hold on to or stock up on. Through life I have had some great ups and terrible downs and the one quote that I hold deeper than any that I have read is From Maya Angelou  “Have enough courage to trust, love one more time, always one more time. Love only stops when you stop giving it and it only ends when you end it. Love is in constant change, growing, evolving and developing and like any skill the more you use it the better you will become. I hope to never reach a level of contentment with my wife and daughter. I hope that I will learn and grow for the rest of my life. I hope to continually change and not get stuck in having a love that is simply good enough, I will fight to have a love that is superb…..

Feel free to comment,

