Enemy of Peace


asdf

How much time is spent thinking about what is coming next, what may happen in life or how to avoid a situation?

How much pain have the thoughts caused us, how long did we spend thinking of the “what if’s”?

How much time was wasted on the fear of the unknown and the time dwelling on the evils that never happened?

When I look back on all these worries, I remember the story of the old man who said on his deathbed “I had a lot of trouble in my life, most of which had never happened”.

Learning to live in the now is hard and learning to not let my mind wander into tomorrow, next week, a month from now is even harder and as far as I have come on my journey to living in the now is worth every second I don’t spend wasted on thinking about what could happen tomorrow.

What do you fear?

Deep down we all have them and most of the time it comes out as a different response. Some people tend to get aggressive others get quiet. No matter what your response to fear it’s safe to say that most of us fail at expressing our true emotions. As for myself I get quiet and withdrawn from the situation, most of the time to process what is going on, or what “I think” is going on and most of the time that is where it gets messy. In my “processing” I fabricate what I think is happening and react out of what my mind has created and not from the facts.

Fear has many other names and faces such as terror, dread, fright, panic, trepidation and apprehension and with all of them one thing is true, if you add truth to the situation and respond in love fear has nothing to live off of. Fear is a warped representation of how we see something or how something is perceived because of how we have experienced something in the past or how we are expecting it to be in the future.

For instance if you have came home every day at 4:00pm and greeted by your spouse  and one day you decide to come home at 5:00pm without a call, within a short amount of time and of not arriving as usual a bit of fear may set in, our mind will start to fabricate scenarios and this is the beginning of fear.

Misunderstanding arising from ignorance and breeds fear, and fear remains the greatest Enemy of Peace. – Lester B. Pearson

Learning to not overreact and fight the fabrication of the unknown is a skill that must be developed over time and is worth learning. You just may begin to live after you learn to let go what could be.

Feel free to comment,

