Metamorphose


image

I had a great opportunity to attend a Leadership Training with about 15 others from all occupations, men and women, single and married, with children and without. At first I began to complain about all the circumstances in my life that have not been working in my favor, like it is the circumstances fault for not validating my actions and the sad part is at first it made sense in my mind.

As the first day continued I started to see that Jean and Jason ( the trainers) had a way of “calling others out” and as much as I didn’t want to be called out in a public setting with all the other strangers eyes glaring at me I just couldn’t keep my mouth shut. I am thankful for my openness and objective demeanor as I began to join in with others conversations and relate to others comments and stories.  

After about 3 hours (feeling like 5 hours) I started the “this is not what I had imagined” conversation with myself and was beginning to think of shutting down, being quiet and letting the 6 hours remaining of day 1 pass by. No matter how hard I tried I just couldn’t shut my mouth and felt lead to speak my mind (very guarded and shallow) I began to open, little by little until I poured out my heart about how I treat my wife, children and friends. I remember thinking “this is a leadership training, what does all this have to do with being a leader”?

It became a game of digging for most of us, question after question about the why and how we respond to this and why we respond to that. Jean and Jason knew exactly what to say to dig a bit deeper into what the real cause and effect to my behavior was. Like a lightbulb it struck me, I always think as being a leader associated with business and at home I’m simply “dad”.

At one point Jean said (not word for word) “You are never fake, you are you no matter where you are or who you are with, sometimes you are quiet and sometimes you are aggressive, either way you are always you”. That hit me hard because of the thoughts of never being fake, fighting smiling when I wanted to cry and being passive aggressive as I held in my anger. I was being “me” yes it was a 15 year old me, however me none the less.

Day 2, I walked in feeling almost like these strangers were family I haven’t seen in a while and we all picked up where we left off. Over the next 8 hours tears were shed and soft hidden places were burst open with nothing but love, encouragement and guidance from everyone as well as the leaders. This was an amazing transformation to my thought process and has in my mind changed the course of my life and vision for my life.

The style and content was spot on and at times heart pricking. With that in addition to the passion of Jean and Jason’s gifted speaking and with the ability to gently tug at your heart strings and even at times be bold and blunt with love. It was a great mixture of push and pull and has encouraged me look deep into who I am and re-align who I will become.

There were many quotes that hit me as we read the content and yet this one hit me the hardest, I think it explains best my struggles and why I continue to get out of my spin…

“Our intentions tend to be much more real than our actions, and this can lead to a great deal of misunderstanding with other people, to whom our actions tend to be much more real than our intentions”. – E.F. Schumacher

Attached is a link to give credit to the amazing life changing community that I believe could impact and change anyone. Thank you GAP Community for doing what you do.
http://gapcommunity.com

Feel free to comment,

