My Mind is a liar


image

“Nothing in life is to be feared, it is only to be understood. Now is the time to understand more, so that we may fear less.” – Marie Curie

Understanding what is “truly happening” in your life destroys fear and sheds light into the existence of fear itself. Darkness cannot live in the presence of light, cold cannot overcome the force of heat and fear has no foundation through understanding.

“If you fear; seek understanding and the fear our minds tell us will begin to dissolve.”

The stories our minds tell us are (in most cases) far worse than the reality of a situation.

This last year I endured some of the greatest challenges I have ever faced in my life and I found that when my mind and body wanted to retreat and hide from what I was faced with opened up and allowed for the perfect opportunity for my inner voice to begin to speak lies. Lies that “in my mind” fit and were truth, only fueling my mind further to create scenarios that were never true. Our minds are amazingly powerful and complex yet like a machine only designed to do specific functions, to absorb information and process into actions..

The lies I told myself created me to become someone I had never been before, someone I feared to become, and someone I will never become again. I became a shallow, angry and bitter man, a man I felt hopeless to change.

I started to re-think what I told myself over and over throughout the day. Covering everything with open communication and facts about where I was in life and what needed to be done and today I am in the process of rebuilding what “that man” destroyed.

It is important to surround yourself with a community of others that love you enough to be honest when you are being an idiot and to be strong enough to stand against you if necessary; I am blessed to have just that. A support group made up of friends, family and co-workers that care enough to speak truth into my life and a wife that never backed down or let go. I am thankful for everyone in my life and have had a huge desire to further my impact in the lives of others.

We are here to walk through storms and learn to understand how to overcome with the intent to help others with their storms. I see my storm behind me, I still hear the rumble of the thunder and the smell of rain and I survived to rebuild and become who I am becoming.

“Seeds of great discoveries are constantly floating around us, but they only take root in minds well prepared to receive them.” – Joseph Henry

Prepare your mind to allow the seed of understanding to take root. Closed minds will never think new thoughts and hardened hearts will never accept vulnerability, find strength in vulnerability.

Feel free to comment,

