Awaken the Lion


image

I want to tell a story, the story about a dream.

I am a dreamer of so many things, what house we will buy when we are retired, what our daughters will do for a living when they get older, what their passions are, when will they will get married and where am I heading after today.

In my mid-twenties my dream started to change, they became scary confusing and vague. Into my late twenties I started to see a theme in my dreaming the theme was that these dreams were puzzle pieces. As I begin to process and put the pieces together I realized I was sexually abused for many years. During this time I struggle to balance my life internally as well as externally, I was married and had our oldest daughter and wife to look after and lead into life. So I begin to put the pieces together with my wife Sandy and I noticed some dreams that didn’t fit into the puzzle at the time.

I attended a life transforming process called the Awaken through an amazing, loving ministry called GAP Community and after almost 10 years the dreams fit quite well into my puzzle and one of the dreams was about a man.

Allow me tell the story as it flooded out this last week with 21 other people that began as strangers and ended up becoming my family.

Awaken the Lion.
This man was no ordinary man, he was strong, stood tall with boldness, he was loving and gentle and he was slowly putting on armor. I could see that this armor was heavy at the same time seemed to create a confidence and feelings of comfort. As I began to examine the armor I saw something on the chest-plate it was a symbol the symbol was a cross, and as I looked up from the cross I began to notice some of the characteristics of this man I saw a red beard, as I looked closer I said to myself “you resembled someone that I once knew”. I continue to look upon his face and I began to panic in disbelief, this warrior, this lion of a man, this warrior of Jesus and deliverer of wrath in front of me (as chills go down my spine). Could it be, this man standing before this scared little boy, I know this man this man shares my name, it is me. Heart of a lion wrath of a warrior and love of a father, it is my armor.

Ephesians 10
Finally, be strong in the Lord and His mighty power put on the full armor of God so that you can take a stand against the Devil’s schemes. For our struggle is not against flesh and blood but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the dark powers of this world. Therefore put on the full armor of God so that when the day of evil comes you may be able to stand your ground and after you have done everything to remain standing.

After the last 4 days of breakdowns and build ups I found my armor and sword again and with a freedom in my soul about who I am I intend to live my life with a transparent love and new vision for my future.

Feel free to comment,

