Choice of Joy


 

image

You may have great dreams for your future, but if you fill your future with junk from your past, then you’ll never fulfill your dreams. A conscious decision must be made to forget about what is behind and press on toward the things that are ahead.

I can in all honesty say I have been on both sides of this and completely understand both.

“Sometimes your joy is the source of your smile,
but sometimes your smile
can be the source of your joy”.
– Thich Nhat Hanh

 For many years I was stuck in the roll of the victim feeding my own fear that I am not good enough. Over a month ago I attended the Awaken Conference in Anaheim California and went through a process of breaking down the walls and thought process behind my vicious cycles of thoughts. The changes I have felt coming out of the intense digging into who I was has brought me to where I am today.

“We are what we repeatedly do.
Excellence then is not an act, but a habit”.
– Will Durant (commonly attributed to Aristotle)

Today I have a peace about who I am and a vision about where I am heading. I have a dream of working with people; I haven’t narrowed it down yet as to whom the people are married couples, men, teens or co-ed groups.  I still struggle from time to time and especially when it comes to close family and friends in conflict. It is easy to walk up to a stranger and enter into a conversation about the struggles you guys face, now entering into a conversation with someone close to you is much harder. Today I read about joy and I can see the habits I fight to keep away creeping back and I refuse to let anything steal my joy. Here is an inner smile exercise and I hope you find it as helpful as I did this morning.

Inner Smile Exercise:
1. Close your eyes.
2. Breath slowly, deeply, and consciously.
3. Set the corners of your mouth in just the slightest smile.
4. Visualize your smile growing larger and larger, and your happiness increasing.
5. Let go, release the thoughts that are the cause of your tension.

Having joy and peace in your life is a choice and I understand it is not an easy choice however you can choose to live with the intent of living to die or you can choose to live to have purpose and positivity in your life.

When the will to live your life is greater than the will to remain stuck where you are in your life the change will happen and until YOU make that choice to do something about it no movement is exactly what you will get.

The choice is yours, how do you want to live?  Stuck, unhappy, angry, hurt or depressed or would you rather feel joy, happiness, peace, and purpose… I choose the latter

Feel free to comment,

