The Anxious Mind


image

1 Peter 5: 6-7

The desire to understand what it means to live here and now is the desire to constantly change my thoughts.

The thoughts to not neglect those around me and get hyper focused on tomorrow, next week or next month but to enjoy today for what today has to offer.

My pride continually rises up to tell me otherwise.

My mind quietly whispers the lie “you have everything under control”.

My body screams for things of this world.

My heart is quickly out witted by the confusion my mind stirs up about who I am.

My soul desires a foundation based I the promises found in my faith in God.

My life needs a constant renewing to calm the anxiety that rises up.

“Self-disciplined begins with the mastery of your thoughts.
If you don’t control what you think, you can’t control what you do.
Simply, self-discipline enables you to think first and act afterward”.
– Napoleon Hill

Our body follows our mind, search for the prominence of a sound mind by centering as much as needed. I in most cases need to take a step back and focus on my breathing to feel where I am right now. I tend to drift into the future and spin out of control (in sorts) in my mind. I allow my future to create anxiety about what could be coming up in my life. I saw a post a while ago and it said “I got 99 problems and 90 of them are completely fabricated scenarios in my mind creates”.

“What we think, we become.
All that we are arises with our thoughts.
With our thoughts, we make the world”.
– The Buddha

I heard a great sermon in yesterday’s service about giving up our anxiety and learning to be humble enough to accept help. The next step in my life is fighting to overcome my pride and to humble my heart and harmonize the desires of my soul.

Feel free to comment,

