Permanence


image

As a child I clearly remember dreaming about today, October 21, 2015 from the movie Back to The Future. Today is that day!

Wow, what will it be like? Will cars be able to fly? Will we really be wearing those crazy cloths? I know you are most likely saying “he is really writing about Back to The Future” continue reading and make up your own assumption.

These were the important questions in my life at that time. As I aged those questions began to become less and less important. That is how life goes, what was once “so important” tends to fade away and take the back seat to new visions and dreams. Even relationships can fade, become estranged and even toxic.

Time and space, which is a new concept for me and learning about the time and space has been very up and down. I have always been a very busy man, with seemingly endless “work” to do, raising two daughters, a home, dinner, homework, bedtime routines. There never seemed to be enough time to take time for myself, time to decompress from the stress of life.

Currently I have moved out on my own through some tough life changes and going from the fast paced life of a fulltime father to a single parent with 50/50 has given me WAY more free time than I have ever had in my life. Finding the time to decompress is no longer a problem, it’s the other 7 hours in the day that tend to give me the issues.

“Put some distance between yourself and whatever is concerning you.
Distance in space or time always creates a new perspective.
Take time to contemplate – away from the opinions and influence of others –
what you really want and what you believe to be important in your life”.
– Jonathan Lockwood Huie

What is important in life is constantly changing and evolving, flowing and drifting. Yes even family, friends and relationships. Noting in life is permanent, nothing last forever and that is the beauty of it. With no permanence in life it opens the option to make what has been broken mended and what has never been can be found. Learning to take time for myself and doing the things that free my soul and fill my heart  and it has been the greatest experience in my life. It has taken me to step out of what I thought was permanent and to open up to the possibilities that I never knew existed in my life.   

“Winners have the ability to step back from the canvas of their lives like an artist gaining perspective”.
– Denis Waitley

Take the step away from what you think you know about your life, you just might find out there can be so much more than you could have ever have imagined possible. I have found a new love in many things that I dabbled in before, and I have the opportunity to enjoy them at a deeper level. I have opened up the door in my life that I have had closed out of fear. We fear what we do not know, what we do not understand and in some cases we fear what is not even there in the first place.

After stepping through the door of fear I have found a new beauty on the other side, a new opportunity and new passion. Fear will never rule my life again, passion will.

Feel free to comment,

