After


image

Yesterday I was inspired to write about the uncertainties of life; today I feel the need to write about how I see my future lately.

Seven months ago if you were to tell me I would be divorced by 2016 I would have told you that you are crazy, 2 years ago if you told me I would no longer have a nice house, beautiful fenced in back yard with an amazing golden retriever running around my hammock I would have probably not even responded to your insanity. Here we are mid-November of 2015 and it all came true. I now have an apartment, no dog, no back yard no hammock, no house and I will be divorced by 2016.

I’m not trying to find pity, I’m trying to explain that we can plan for our dream house on a lake; we can save for that camper to enjoy at retirement and nothing in life is certain, not even our time.

“There is nothing in a caterpillar that tells you it’s going to be a butterfly”. – R. Buckminster Fuller

With this new life I have been given, here is what I do have, I have lessons about life that have been learned, two beautiful daughters, I have had great times, terrible losses and I have a new view on how fragile life is and how precious our time is, and in the fast pace technology blinded lifestyles of today we can miss the opportunities that are right in front of us. Nothing in life hurts more than the thought of missing out on the future you have always dreamt of having with the exception of regret for not waking up sooner to the things that needed to change.

Life is far too short to be caught up in the issues that have nothing to do with creating a beautiful future for yourself and those around you. Have faith that even after the disaster in life, we can rebuild.

After the forest fires consume everything in its path the soil left behind is more fertile for re-growth.

After the leaves on the trees whither and dry up, falling to the ground and the tree looks like its seen its final day, new life blooms from the tree after a season of rest.

After the caterpillar retreats into its chrysalis I could imagine that it’s thinking and preparing for death only to be changed into something far more beautiful than before.

This next year I will learn to love life and love myself better, I will be better at being humble and forget my pride and I will love like tomorrow will never come. I could see the losses in my life as the end or I could see them as a new beginning to something better than before. Tomorrow is another glimpse into our future but the path to that future is chosen today.

“There are all kinds of futures.
There is a hoped-for future,
there is a feared future,
there is a predictable future,
and there is an unimagined future”.
– Werner Erhard

4 thoughts on “After

  1. It is the raw emotion of your message that pentrates the depth of broken hearts, my heart. Thank you for your transparency allowing me to see your heart as I endeavor to understand my own. You are exactly what the world need more of…and that’s gentle rain motivating new life.

    Like

  2. Dear Scott,

    My name is Ashlee. I’m co-founder of the Youshare Project, with the mission to connect people around the world through true, personal stories. I recently stumbled across your blog and read the above post entitled “After.” It’s beautifully written and compelling. I think it would make a wonderful youshare, because I believe it will touch others who are experiencing a similar situation, let them know they are not alone, and that there is another perspective to what they may be experiencing.

    If this sounds interesting to you, I would love to email you directly with more information and formally invite you to adapt your story to youshare and share it with the project. You have my email address and website. I hope to hear from you soon.

    Best,
    Ashlee
    http://www.youshareproject.com
    ashlee@youshareproject.com

    Liked by 1 person

Feel free to comment,

