The Circle of Influence


asdfasdf

“The issue with internet quotes is that you can never be certain they’re authentic.” – Matthew Brady 

Matthew was a very intelligent man, this is true and not everything you read is the truth, even if it’s beautifully written, correct punctuation, and the words almost jump off the page into your heart, you must still use judgment when reading.

Mathew Brady was a 19th-century photographer best known for his Civil War photography and portraits. He died in 1896 in a charity ward, 87 years before the internet was released.

I posted a short writing a few hours ago and it was brought to my attention by a friend that there may be an issues with the writing. Thank you kind sir, and as I read my text it hit me, almost everything we read, we see, we feel and we hold so dearly to our hearts as an original idea is most likely just something we have already heard, seen or modified just enough to call it our own.

The quote was by “Emerson Mastery” he went on to explain that it was Ronald E. Osborn who said the quote originally.  Emerson was more popular at the time, so it was attributed to him. I also did some investigation of my own, and came to the same conclusion using a website called (quote investigator.com)  and as I was browsing the amazingly intelligent internet and came across an article that sparked my interest.

It was from Time.com and its heading was (1oo most influential people) so naturally I opened the article only to find the first picture listed in the 100 most influential people was Kanye West. Ok, I’m not going to jump on the Kanye bash bandwagon, that is not my goal for this; it just shocked me that he made the list, but I’m not surprised.

My point of all this is to share that just because I write does not make what I say any more true than anyone else. They may have a pretty face, they may speak very well, hold the highest level of integrity in your eyes or seem to have a perfect life and everyone is human.

I’m not saying do not look up to others and find inspiration in what they say or do, I’m saying have some discernment when changing your views and actions according to what they say or do, use common sense and ask question, challenge what they say, and seek the truth for yourself.

Here is an example and I am in no way comparing these two!

Adolf Hitler:

An Austrian-born German politician who was the leader of the Nazi Party, Chancellor of Germany from 1933 to 1945, and Führer of Nazi Germany from 1934 to 1945 hundreds of thousands of followers all to believe he was right in his actions.

Make the lie big, make it simple, keep saying it, and eventually they will believe it.” – Adolf Hitler

Thomas Jefferson:

An American Founding Father who was principal author of the Declaration of Independence. He was elected the second Vice President of the United States and the third President. While his was in office there were approximately 5,308,483 US citizens that helped shape what we see today.

“I hold it, that a little rebellion, now and then, is a good thing, and as necessary in the political world as storms in the physical” – Thomas Jefferson

Feel free to comment,

