Be Grateful Regardless of the Circumstances


image

“We tend to forget that happiness doesn’t come as a result of getting something we don’t have, but rather of recognizing and appreciating what we do have”. – Frederick Koenig

This has been the motto of the year and I have never been in this space in my life before.

Today I went to the gym with my oldest daughter. As I was watching her working out I caught myself critiquing her form on some of the exercises as she did them.

Honestly it was hard to see her and not say anything. However I withheld telling her anything. About 5 minutes from being done as I was finishing up my last set, she approached me and was wanting to try what I was doing.

It was a moment that I soaked up fully as I smiled at her. So I quickly set her arms in the correct position and explained to keep your elbows from moving to let the muscles do the work. She completed one set of my tricep exercise at half the weight I was doing, it was a very proud moment for me.

You see its something I understand and believe in. I love explaining new workouts, protein synthesis or macro and micro nutrients. But what about the bigger topics of life.

I’ll be real for a minute, how can I explain life without being a hypocrite? How can I explain life when I have failed at more than been successful at.

Don’t get me wrong I am content with life at the moment, however how can I expect something that I truly didn’t succeed at, or even believe in myself lately.

I drank before I was 21, experimented with drugs, had sex before marriage and I’m now part of the population that falls into the high percent called “the divorced”.

I have not hit the mark on almost anything in my life. So how would I ever look either of them in the eyes and tell them to do something I couldn’t, and believe it?

To be a good motivational speaker you must first believe in what you are speaking about to show the heart behind what you are saying. Without believing in what you say your words will be flat, shallow and meaningless, and nothing more than words.

Lately I find myself thinking, day dreaming and drifting into thought of where life is taking me and my girls. It can completely take over a 30 minute walk like it’s nothing.

“With gratitude, all life appears as a blessing – without gratitude, all of life is perceived as a burden”. – Jonathan Lockwood Huie

I’m grateful for having such a good relationship with my girls regardless of the changed that completely shook everything they knew.

I’m grateful for the new relationships I have made and having the chance to get to know them all.

I’m grateful for finding love again and having the chance to take it slow and grow inside at my own pace.

Most importantly, I’m grateful that my daughters still think I’m a good father after everything they have been through.

I guess my questions do not need answers as much as actions and my love doesn’t have to come with stipulations. It’s not always black or white and I don’t need to talk as much as listing to when they need to tell me something.

Funny how life can set you down in your seat and tell you to shut your mouth long enough to listen..

Feel free to comment,

