It’s Never Too Late


image

“A hundred years from now it will not matter what my bank account was, the sort of house I lived in, or the kind of car I drove… But the world may be different because I was important in the life of a child”. – Forest E. Witcraft

Days passing by like seconds, years like minutes and I watch as my daughters getting older, asking fewer questions, wanting less time with me, finding their independence and voicing their own opinions about life.

I try to hold onto the little moments I get during my time with them. In between all the homework, dinner, guitar lessons, appointments and gymnastics and while battling my natural desire to just get through the day and rest, I miss out. Most of the time never feeling I getting caught up enough to enjoy them.

The question I ask over and over is what does my life mean to my girls?
Am I just a man working day after day for a paycheck only to give it all away for stuff I really don’t need? What do I want my girls to remember, “Daddy always worked” or “my dad was a great dad” I know I’m a little of both and I know I’m a good father, there is so much room for improvement.

I know without a doubt my daughters love me, and to me that is not enough. I want them to know I’m here even when I’m not with them, I want them to feel safe knowing that when they fall I will help them back up and to find confidence in themselves because they are incredible little girls.

I have 3 years of high school with my oldest daughter and my youngest is going into middle school, how much time have I spent just trying to get through the day missing out on the opportunity to really spend time with my daughters, rushing them off to bed so I can have a little peace and quiet before I go to sleep, only to start the progression all over again the next day.

“There is beauty and adventure in the commonplace for those with eyes to see beyond”. – Jonathan Lockwood Huie

So I have made a decision, I will be broke, not work as much as I can, spend as much time with them as I can when I can and enjoy the little arguments, bickering, late nights and early mornings because one day soon that will all be gone. They will move on and living their own lives and I will not have them with me.

I am so thankful for the blessing I have been given to be a father and the only regrets I have are the things I thought about but never shared and the times I had a chance to be there and wasn’t. It’s never too late!

Feel free to comment,

