image

Abundance: The quantity or amount of something; a very large quantity of something.

“Not what we have, but what we enjoy, constitutes our abundance”. – Epicurus

What is abundance and how does it impact our lives?

That is a question I have been asking for pretty much my entire life and it’s not something that can be answered, it’s a daily, sometimes hourly reminder that the life I live could be so much worse. Look around, there’s always someone in need if you’re willing to look past the concerns of your own life enough to see them.

What if you got up thankful for just being alive, thankful for your health? What if you started every day with a smile? Sure there will be bad days, learn to not sit there and say “well this is how today is going to be” try to let the crap go and see something good in the day. The way we think will determine the outcome of the path we choose to take and the people we surround ourselves with help guide that path.

Here are a couple choices I am making today. Changing these two comments will change how I see what it is that they are referring too.

“Today I get to go to work” or “today I have to work”
Tonight I get to see my girls” or “I have to take care of them again tonight”.

“Our journey into consciousness of wealth begins with the realization that we have already arrived”. – Michael Beckwith

I am beginning to see that we never arrive, we never reach the carrot at the end of the stick, and that is the beauty of it. Life never reaches a destination, if it has then you are beginning to prepare for death. That might be a bold statement, just think about it for a minute. When you find what it is you’re looking for you will do one of two things.

1. Look for a new goal to better something in your life

2. Become stagnant and think that your current situation in life is how it’s going to be for the rest of your life.

I have seen both and unfortunately I have spent a lot of time focusing on the 2nd and struggling to see the 1st!

I try to be optimistic as much as I can and I slowly and naturally drift back into the blah feelings of “this is how it is going to be”. For years I have sat with that feeling and guess what I have gotten from it? I have gotten exactly what I have put into my life, little to nothing in the form of bettering my life or those around me.

I was approached by a co-worker recently and what he told me was an inspiration and huge shock. This entire time I thought to myself “I need this guy around me every day, his energy feeds me and motivates me” and what he said took me by surprise.

He said “the energy you have brought to work every day keeps me going and seeing that you went through everything you have in the last year has shown me that you can fall hard and get back up, and even be happy again”

I learned something in that; I have a choice that affects everyone I come in contact with, not only my friends and family, everyone. I can give power or take power, be a positive influence or a negative drain on their lives.

I want to keep the friends and family that feed me with positive energy around, it feels better to have a worthy outlook on life. Even further, try this and you may be surprised. The next few people you meet actually listen to them, don’t just give them the “hey how’s it going” as you walk by. Take a minute and talk, with eye contact and intent and see how differently the conversation goes.

Image by my oldest daughter Haylee Jenkins

What is an Abundant Life and How Do I Find One

Feel free to comment,

