When You Are Alone


image

I can’t begin to tell you how many days I have had to get up and fight to smile over the last few years. If I had nothing to look forward to in the future I struggled to find a reason to be Joyful.

For so long I put my happiness in the hands of others; my loved ones, peers, circumstances and even the weather. It was just too easy to adapt my day to the day of those around me or blame it on the rain.

I found my power when I had to stand alone. I would never have had the opportunity to see this had it not been for the events that took place over the last couple of years. So I choose to see God’s hand in this and not be a victim.

“Our happiness or misery depends on our dispositions and not on our circumstances”. – Martha Washington

Today I can say that when I wake up my joy is fed by my love of being alive, healthy and able to do the simple things that I took for granted. I can see, I can hear, I can walk. Think about losing any one of those. I have so much in my life that I completely dismissed and have taken for granted on a daily basis. I have a great job, daughters that love me, nice vehicle, I’m healthy, and independent and I have also found a wonderful woman and am in love. The best part is she does not complete me, I am perfectly equipped to bring 100% into our relationships.

“The trick is in what one emphasizes,
We either make ourselves miserable,
or we make ourselves happy, the amount of work is the same”. – Carlos Castaneda

It’s about choices, you can see pain and suffering or you can see the blessings in life. Like the quote above, it’s the same effort.

This last week I have been absolutely alone, no girls, Jennifer is away on vacation and I am at peace. In the past I have struggled to be alone. The difference is I do not need anything from them. That allows me to be a blessing in their lives not a drain.

Learning to stand alone has been the best experience I have ever faced.

To those who feel they need someone in their life to make yourself complete, ask yourself one question. What will you do when you’re alone?

I am planning on spending every day thankful for everything I have in my life. Nothing is forever and nothing is guaranteed in life. Enjoy it while it’s here, you never know when life will change and you will have to stand alone.

Love hard and deep, forgive often and live with passion. Enjoy the little things in life!

2 thoughts on “When You Are Alone

  1. That was so true Scott. MrC is a valuable person in my life. When i am alone i like it ,but pretty soon i look for him. I know when i am alone I am really not alone, ever. If you have Him in your heart, He gives you the spirit which people forget about. The Holy Spirit. A precious gift to help us cope and direct our path. If you believe, you will never be alone.😊

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes Laurie, I believe that my life has been lead by my faith. Even when I stray He’s there. When I’m at my worst, in the darkest of places He’s there. I am never alone and I have learned to appreciate who I am and what I have to offer. You can say I found my worth through everything.

      Like

Feel free to comment,

