Who Do You Think You Are


image

Take a look at the flower, it’s the same flower half lacking color the other half in its full color. How do you see yourself?

I was recently approached by a friend and they asked me if everything was ok.  Puzzled, I said “yes, I’m doing good”, why do you ask? They explained how they read one of my posts in Real Life and thought they should see if I needed anything.

I explained to them that not all of my posts I publish are what I am going through at that moment. Sometimes I feel a desire to write from a different perspective. Like being on the other side and knowing how much I needed to hear what I write. With hope that it will help someone that needs to hear from someone that has been through it, survived, got back up and continued on with life.

“Your best friend and worst enemy are both in this room right now. It’s not your neighbor right or left – and it’s not God or the devil – it’s you”. – Edwin Louis Cole

We are our own worst enemy.  What you tell yourself holds far more power than what others may say. Yes it may hurt to hear anything negative about yourself and will surly not help your self worth. However it has no power compared to what you believe true about yourself.

I have felt unworthy of love, I have felt there is something wrong with me and I have seen how over time that will begin to destroy your self image. I have sat in self pity and self hate, depression and at one point thought I would be better off dead. This was NOT influenced by others, on the outside I was loved, friends trying to spend time with me, loved ones wanting to see me. However on the inside the battle raged on, worthless, unlovable, broken, out of shape, bad father, just not someone worth anyone’s time. Our mind will destroy who you see yourself as from the inside unless we learn to fight back. Prove your mind wrong, exercise, show yourself you’re not worthless, you are loveable and you are one of a kind.

“Feeling sorry for yourself, and your present condition, is not only a waste of energy but the worst habit you could possibly have”. – Dale Carnegie

Today I know I am very worthy of life, love and to help others that are in a dark place.

If you are in that dark hell and can’t find a way out start by getting out of the house, walk, listen to music, get a punching bag, find water and sunlight. Whatever it takes to get moving!

The first step to becoming depressed is isolation, we were not made to be alone, we are ALL social beings. Yes some more than others and in different ways. What you tell yourself will remain relentless until you prove it wrong.  Make today beautiful, I’m thankful for being on the other side of that and have no interest in returning. I control my mind now, you can too. 

2 thoughts on “Who Do You Think You Are

Feel free to comment,

