What If You Could Choose The Life You Want


IMG_20160704_204716

“Watch your thoughts, for they become words, watch your words for they become actions, watch your actions for they become habits, watch your habits for they become character, watch your character for it becomes your destiny”. – Anonymous

I have experienced this to its fullest, no matter how hard I fought my thoughts they always manifested in my life. I have seen that you WILL become what you tell yourself you are. You can be worthy or worthless, the choice is up to you.

I am back to life from a nice time of rest, away from work, life’s stress and the rigors and demands of adulthood. What a refreshing little vacation; laughter, late nights with friends and family. Time like this is the best remedy for me and is so meaningful to the way I feel love. Quality time is definitely one of my highest forms of love language and I am so thankful to be where I am right now in my life. I am surrounded by so much desired time from my loved ones I often have a hard time balancing it all out, not a bad place to be at all.

For a long time I secluded myself from a lot of people due to the imbalances in my life, mainly what I was telling myself, “what is wrong with me” and personalizing any issue I saw in my life, even from others. I told myself everyday “I probably will be exactly where I am for the rest of my life” and in turn began to give up and allow my spirit to become broken and not in a way that is pleasing to my faith or my future. If you know me at all you know I love to be social and often times can be over the top even. For a long time I lost that and was beginning to believed I never wanted it back, I was wrong.

“For as he thinketh in his heart, so is he”. – Proverbs 23:7

My heart was breaking for the life I wished I had, just couldn’t achieve and at the time I desired but was far too complacent to ask for it any longer. God works in ways we will never understand and in timing that is confusing to any logical thinking. I never thought I would be where I am right now in my life, however now that I am here I believe it was God stepping in and changing my path just enough to show me he was still in charge and never left my side, even if I turned my back on him. I truly believe we all need a little nudge in life, and by little I mean flipping everything I knew upside down and letting me figure out where to start and rebuild. I am so thankful for my life, all of it and I see the mistakes I have made and lessons I should have learned the first time, even the second time or third.

Today I no longer tell myself “what is wrong with me” or “I probably will be exactly where I am for the rest of my life” I am not giving my power to the negative thoughts that ran my life for so long. I never found my true value of my life until I was fully alone. In the last year I have walked almost 2500 miles and little by little I found a missing piece of myself.

My only advice is to be cautious of what you tell yourself because you will become exactly what you believe you are. Life can be messy; it can be hard and at times may not feel worth it. Life can also be pleasing, joyous and amazing. Nothing in life is for free; every action has a reaction and there is a price to be paid somehow and by someone. What you give to the world around you is also what you will receive back. Believe you are better than you tell yourself you are and you will be. We are our own worst enemy, it’s a good thing we can choose how we think.

Feel free to comment,

