The World Is Changed By Your Example Not Your Opinion


real life

This Article was written by a very good friend of mine LCpl Andrew Sturgeon, USMC (ret.)

I personally value an opinion of someone that is willing to give the ultimate sacrifice and has experienced tremendous loss while doing so over those of us who simply talk about the change we want in our lives.

“If your actions were to boomerang back on you instantly, would you still act the same? Doing to others an act you’d rather not have done to you reveals a powerful internal conflict”. – Alexandra Katehakis

As most of you know, I’m a firearms enthusiast. Yes, I’m a “gun nut“. There are a few things that I want to get off my chest. Why are firearms enthusiasts so afraid of a change in laws? What I mean by this is; so many people I’ve talked to think it is an infringement on their rights for a federally mandated background check that is more extensive than the current one.

Why is that an issue?

I have absolutely no problem waiting a few more days to purchase my firearm if that means safety for innocent people. I have nothing to hide. Look at the Orlando shooter, he passed the current background check and legally bought the weapon used in that tragedy. I’m not saying that a more in depth background check is going to solve all this nations violent issues, but it’s a start. Now I understand the argument of “it’s just a gateway for them to take our guns” so let me ask you this; when was the last time an amendment was removed from the Bill of Rights? IT’S NOT GOING TO HAPPEN.

Now that I have said that, the issue this nation has isn’t because of guns, it’s an issue of the mindset of America. Issues of racism (and yes anyone can be racist, it’s not just reserved for white people) issues with authority, issues with stereotyping. Not all cops use excessive force, not all minorities are thugs. I’m not saying that every police shooting is justified, that’s just ignorant. We don’t live in a Utopian society, as long as we have the freedom of thought; things like racism are going to exist.

Movements like Black Lives Matter started off with great intentions, they really did, but the things that are happening in the name of that movement are tearing this nation apart. The citizens of this country should all be treated equally, whether they are man, woman, black, white, straight, gay, Christian or Muslim.

That’s another thing I am sick a tired of, all these Christians (and yes I do consider myself a Christian) standing on their soap box trying to shove all this anti-Muslim propaganda down my throat. Yes, radical Muslims are an issue and need to be dealt with, but any radical is in issue and needs to be dealt with. Radical racists, radical feminists, heck radical Christians! What makes you Christians think that you even have the smallest right to sit there and say “deport all Muslims”? Are you that narrow minded that you forgot about the crusades? The actions of the few are tainting your perception of the many.

I’ve met many Muslims, and in my experience it is a religion of peace. There are parts of both religions that call for violence in certain situations and are often misinterpreted. So Christians, get down off your high horse and start paying attention to the bible, stop placing judgment and “love thy neighbor“.

I served my country for four years and I’ll be damned if this country gets torn from the inside out. AMERICA, GET YOU’RE SHIT TOGETHER. Stop thinking of only yourself, be selfless every once in a while. Smile at a stranger, take a picture for the gay couple, have an intelligent and civil discussion with someone of a different religion, and most importantly; GET YOUR HEAD OUT OF YOUR ASS AND OPEN YOUR MIND!

Feel free to comment,

