Waiting for The Day That Never Comes


Screenshot_20160808-053510 (1)

 

“There is more to life than increasing its speed”. – Mohandas (Mahatma) Gandhi 

On Monday all I could think about was Friday, well it’s Friday and ironically as I write this I’m thinking “I have waited all week for today” but why? Today is just another day yet I’m constantly trying to rush through the week for the weekend. Is there more to life than getting through it?

Today has so many emotions associated with it, on this day one of my favorite actors lost his life his name is Robin Williams and he was by far one of my favorite people in Hollywood and his performances will be missed and not forgotten. He has left a legacy of amazing works and overcoming so many obstacles in life.

I also have a personal loss today, one that feels more ambivalent than anything else in my life. I have thought about how this day would feel all week and as today got closer and closer I had a little anxiety about it.

I do not want to give too much power to this loss; I do however want to show reverence. Today would have been my anniversary and there is a feeling of grief associated with today. I have to admit it isn’t as bad of a feeling as I had imagined in my mind leading up to today and in most cases that is how it goes. Our minds elaborate and create scenarios that are in most cases far from the truth.

I choose that today is a good day, partly because I’m happy that I am where I am in life, with my girls and have been blessed with a wonderful woman that fits so many of the pieces that have been missing. Sure I wish the loss would have been under different circumstances however life will not allow you to rule it. The plans we set are nothing more than little events that we tell ourselves to appease our minds and make ourselves believe we are in control.

“The greatest weapon against stress is our ability to choose one thought over another”. – William James 

Today is a celebration of things to come not a mourning of losses; life is far too short to look in the rear-view mirror all the time. I would hate to wake up one day and have more regrets than celebrations. I can either choose to love life or hate it, to let go of the past or allow it to rob my future of anything new, the choice is mine!

“The life of inner peace, being harmonious and without stress is the easiest type of existence”. – Norman Vincent Peale

Today I love everything about where I am in life and I also respect everything I had the opportunity to experience, sure some events more than others but all of them have shown me something about myself or in some cases pushed me into seeing what I am capable of.

If I took a snapshot of my life right at this moment and said to myself everything that has happened in my life up until this point has made me who I am today than I would say it was worth every second. I hope that someone reading this feels uplifted, inspired and has found some peace; I also hope that you see nothing in life is permanent, nothing lasts forever and the plans we set are nothing more then ideas we have and hope for the future, try not to put too much power into the plans for the future and at the same time dream the most amazing dreams.

If you are struggling right now I promise that it will one day be just another memory and the pain you feel will one day fade and allow for joy to take its place. You are the only one that has the power to choose how long the feelings last; when you choose to change how you think you will also change how you respond!

Feel free to comment,

