The Pride of Being Right


If you know me you will also know that I love to talk, I am very social most of the time and love having fun. One thing you may not know is that I  have a huge issue with judgment, I judge very quickly. I’m also glad to admit that in most cases I’m wrong.

In life, you really do not understand something fully unless you have experienced it. So how can I think my judgement are valid.

I’m now in my 30’s, and I guess it’s better late than never, I can finally learn from watching others and not judging them. Laugh if you want however for me this is a breakthrough.

“You never really learn much from hearing yourself speak”. – George Clooney

I’m sure we have all heard the countless stories’ regarding “life” from our parents. Do this, don’t do that, stay away from him or her, “you kids have it so easy these days” or even better the “when I was your age”…… fill in the blank.

I personally remember one conversation I had with my father and he said something to me that actually impacted me as a child, he said “I wish I would have done so many things differently”. He didn’t say, you are wrong, you should do better or you should focus more. He opened up his heart and connected with emotion.  

“You prove your worth with your actions, not with your mouth”. – Jean Paul

He showed me with his heart that there was something more to life that I needed to look for. I really think I’m seeing it almost 30 years later. It’s that life is lived in one of two ways. Regret for something you didn’t do and wished you would have or the satisfaction that you really tried, even if you failed.

“One of the surest ways to cause yourself great suffering is to insist upon being right –
to demand that all others view life exactly as you view it”. – Jonathan Lockwood Huie

Being right had nothing to do with anything but selfish pride.

What is it I won in life for being right?

I really can’t think of anything positive that came from me fighting to be right. Maybe for once being wrong is ok, and letting go of the battle is the next step in my life.

Feel free to comment,

