My Little Story of Us


It all began with a simple post, similar to this one above. A little positive post and I remember it like it was yesterday. I read the post and only after reading it looked to see who this person was that post touched my heart. It was a woman I have seen around here and there through church and mutual friends but have never offically met. 

The feeling of thankfulness was very powerful, so I reached out and thanked her for the post, “thank you for posting, it touched me deeply“. Little did I know this woman would hold my heart over a year later. 

Week after week went by and our conversations were never enough. A good night message was always followed by a good morning, and I don’t think one day has went by that we haven’t began and ended our days this way. I found a great friend! 

The day we first met over coffee, we also share love for the dark caffeinated beverage. As we chatted about life I felt like I have known her for years. A feeling of freedom and calm covered me like a blanket. I wasn’t scared, nervous or anxious, I was in the right place at the right time; and at that moment had no idea what to expect. All I know is that our conversations felt amazing and was far better than the best session of therapy I have had over the last 2 years. 

I have found someone that shares visions of life and goals almost identically. Our minds clicked and our hearts did not hide or build walls of protection. I was an open book and the story’s we shared were not something you wouldn’t share with anyone but your best friend. 

I really believe that sometimes in life bad things happen to guide us to a change in path for our lives. 

As our time together became more frequent our friendship clearly was heading into the deep end of the pool. By clearly, I mean I had no idea until I suddenly couldn’t touch the bottom of the pool. I was quickly approaching the day we needed to have a talk about why we suddenly found lack of words and I had a little pit in my stomach. 

Wait, this can’t be..

I think I’m in love..

But am I ready? Is she feeling the same way? Oh no, what if I tell her and I get lesson 1 of the friend zone?

I was scared! 6’3″ and 200lbs and I was scared of a few words. 

Let’s just say I found my words, and one obstacle after another began to fall away, like it was the plan all along. 

Tonight as I write this I’m thankful for finding the words, sharing my heart and good coffee. I have a life full of respect as well as a great friendship with an amazing woman that I love. 

Never stop trying, you never know when life will take a turn that changes everything. 

I’m not sure where my or our future is heading so I’m holding onto not having expectations, life can’t be planned so for today here I am, and I wouldn’t wish I was anywhere else. 

Feel free to comment,

