To Judge Me Will Not Change Who I Am


“The more opinions you have, the less you see”. – Wim Wenders

I sat down to write and thought hey why not, why not post something that I can look back and remember how November 9, 2016 felt. But I’m not going to do that, I’m not going to feed the hate machine or banter I read on social media. Maybe I will try to calmly express how sad I am that so much hate and anger there is today. I do believe we are heading into a much more divided future. We are not United States; we are the selfish, hatred spreading selfish States of America and I do not think it will get better considering the current situation.

I’m not sure we have ever been united on anything. With the issues regarding racism, religious views, sexism, and basically anything else you can name down to sports teams. Everyone’s view is the “right” view. What if we thought that there are no right or wrong when it comes to topics other than ethical topics, we are all right. My view about my life and beliefs has no impact on yours, or it shouldn’t. If you choose to allow my views to impact your life that has nothing to do with me, it is a reflection on your willingness to see others views and I think we need more of that in the world.

If you were to step back and look at what really matters in life there should be no basis for hate to be fed. Republican, Democratic, Muslim, Christian, Atheist… These have no bearing on living morally or ethically; or they shouldn’t. We are ALL here on this planet, together, and yes there are differences on so many levels. Why can’t we simply love?

I do not discriminate because of race, religious beliefs or political views.  I differentiate by how you are treated by that person.  I do not understand how people think anger, aggression and hate will EVER help anything other than destroying any chance at becoming united.

Was I happy about what I heard this morning, absolutely not! Will I continue to live with respect for the path our country is taking, yes I will. Yes it does impact my life, but I sleep at night because it WILL NOT change who I am or what I believe.

I really hope that we will one day come together; I do not fear the future, I choose to keep myself together and continue on with everything I have.

Take my job, take my possessions, and dishonor the flag of our country I will continue to love those who hate me, give to those who need me and wake up tomorrow and do it all over again because that is not what defines who I am. Not my faith, not my finances, my job, what cloths I wear, the car I drive, the sports team I like or that I truly do not even like sports at all. What defines me is how I treated you, did I respect you, did I show you compassion, and was I your friend regardless of your views and beliefs.

“Prejudice is a burden that confuses the past, threatens the future and renders the present inaccessible”. – Maya Angelou

I hope this changes the hate and anger to compassion. I believe we need more empathy and less indifference between what you “know is right”. Judge me by how I treat you, how I father my daughters, my compassion in life and my passion for life itself. Those are what I will be judging you on and nothing more.

Feel free to comment,

