Laughter Will Cure Anything


lol

“A person without a sense of humor is like a wagon without springs. It’s jolted by every pebble on the road”. – Henry Ward Beecher

If you know me at all you will also know at times my sense of humor can get me into trouble, some have said it to also be a breath of fresh air in this far too serous world. My middle school teachers would probably disagree with the latter. When I was younger my sense of humor may have been taken as an act of defiance, personally I think it was nothing more than my coping mechanism to the severity of the life around me.

Growing up I moved around a lot, I know you are probably saying “what is a lot”? Well, I would really have to sit down and think to be honest; I know that over the course of my life there is not one family member that I didn’t live with at one point or another.

In this particular time I’m thinking of, during one of my many troubled stages, I lived with my aunt and uncle, Patty and John. There were very few adults that understood my sense of humor and still conveyed it as a gift. I do believe it was due to the fact that John himself was a bit of a smart ass. I can remember time after time joking back and forth like a tennis match, faster and faster as our responses quickly began to enter the danger zone; we never reached the “off limits” area of jokes and to this day I appreciate his willingness to allow me to be me.

The other time was a little different , my aunt and uncle Anne and Tim, and at times they loved my sense of humor and I do believe at times did not approve of it as much, and I am glad. Due to their disposition and dedication to love me and guide me I believe I am where I am today because of their willingness to take a different approach to my gift of absurdity. There are many story’s here too, some hilarious and some not so funny but all of them were in love and molded the man I became.

“Seriousness is a sickness; your sense of humor makes you more human, more humble. The sense of humor – according to me – is one of the most essential parts of religiousness”. – Osho

So as for me my humor will always be one thing I hold dear to my heart, practice often and keep as cultured as a teen with a smart phone. You know you are getting old when your teenage daughter says something and you fake laugh only to write it down and later Google what the heck she was talking about, witch most of the time sends me to Urban Dictionary and a short one on one conversation with her the next day about my findings, yes I’m getting old..

I really wanted to write today to hopefully give a little moment away from what we are facing as a Nation. To lighten up the seriousness of life a little; don’t forget to live during the changes of life, whatever that looks like for you. One thing in life is a 100% guarantee, what you are going through today will not last forever; something better or worse WILL take its place and for me laughter and my sense of humor has been the only thing that has consistently gotten me through anything I have faced.

So your mission is to find the most hilarious person you know and never lose friendship with that person. There is always a little pain behind a great sense of humor and I promise that when you see the serious side of a comedian they may be one of the most interesting people you have ever met.

Laugh often, love hard and lighten up, life itself is hard enough without you beating yourself up every day.

Feel free to comment,

