When Less is Enough, Life is Full


lesmore

“What if Christmas, he thought, doesn’t come from a store, what if Christmas, perhaps, means a little bit more”? – Dr. Seuss

All the shopping is over, the running and frantically searching for that perfect gift that will definitely show them you love them has come to an end for another year.

What do you buy someone when their hearts desire is your time, your touch, your compassion?

What can we give that without a doubt says I care, more than our time?

I’m not saying that gifts are bad, however, if their heart wants something different a gift can be empty.

There is not much that melts my heart like the letter I received from my daughter or a hug with emotion behind it. In the past I tried to get the newest, best and most expensive gifts, I explored the limits of the internet to find them, and at times missing out what was in the same room and free.

This Christmas I spent a fraction of what I have spent in the past, actually a fraction of a fraction and I noticed one thing, it truly is the thought that counts, the emotion that you can freely give and the time spent together over dinner.

“Regret is an appalling waste of energy, you can’t build on it – it’s only good for wallowing in”. – Katherine Mansfield

I regret so much but nothing compares to the time I have missed with my girls, fixed on the search for the perfect “something” and struggling to work on things that were out of my control. My eyes are wide-open and I’m SO thankful it’s not too late to grow a wonderful relationship with my girls.

Over the last year I have given up on all the planning, the striving to have more and a huge peace has come into my life, allowing so much room for other things. There are 5 days remaining in 2016, and I am really looking forward to 2017. I can honestly say that I have never been as happy as I am right now, and I have much less materially than I have ever had, yet emotionally more than I have ever had.

Feel free to comment,

