Don’t Listen to my Words, Watch my Actions


reallife

 “Don’t believe me, I don’t want you to believe me but I want you to listen and make choices – your choices. If what I say, doesn’t work for you, leave it. But if it works for you and that’s what you want, then make it yours”. – don Miguel Ruiz

I wish I would have had the confidence to stand up and speak up for myself before 36 years old and to have understood this as a teen. For most of my life I have been submissive and just went with the flow, I don’t want to ruffle feathers; “I can’t cause turbulence in life“. This type of thinking is exactly what I do not want for my daughters.

Be strong and stand up to anything that feels wrong in your heart, follow that little voice and stay away from the crowds being herd like sheep.

(Don’t listen to my words, watch my actions; If I could help my daughters understand one thing about how people can be)

“I can lie to your face with beautiful words; I can make you believe anything with charm and my smile, I can make you believe what I want is what you want, but watch my actions and they will tell the truth every time”. 

Over the last couple years and through some immense life changes the little voice in my mind that bombarded me with sayings like, just take it, don’t say anything, shh it will be ok, listen to what they say because they are right began to die.  A much louder voice began to scream, it’s my life, if I don’t like something I won’t do it, if I don’t like someone they will know it, no pretending, no more rolling over and taking it. I chose my path and direction for my life and you do not have to agree with it but it’s a choice that I am choosing for once.

“Since you are the one who has to live with your choices, be sure they are your own”. – Alan Cohen

A warning about the choices we make. You better make sure you think your choices through, some choices are irreversible. However you can chose to make the best of everything and remain positive and life has a way of turning back around, as a matter of fact it can become far better than what your mind believes possible, today in my life is proof of that.

There’s always a choice, you can remain stuck in the wallows of self-pity and making a choice to give up or you can stand up and say “my life is worth more” and begin a new chapter in the book of life. I am so happy to have the opportunity to be an example of a loving man and father to my daughters; I pray that they see the good as well as the bad in my life as an example as they begin to make the choices in their lives, especially when it comes to dating and one day when they enter into a marriages of their own.

I’m far from perfect, and I’m learning to embrace that as well. I’m also learning daily more about this Scott Jenkins character and who and what he wants to be in the story of life. Thank you for being a part of it, even as a reader you are making a choice to enter into my story.

Feel free to comment,

