Being the Best Version of Yourself


untitled

“You can’t cross the sea merely by standing and staring at the water”. – Rabindranath Tagore

I want to tell you about a man that I haven’t met yet, a man that when I hear the story’s it brings tears and inspiration to her as she tells them to me.

He was born January 1917, yes you read that right, and he will be 100 in a week. as if that is not inspiring enough just being 100, the life he lived and the age he decided to take action in his life is hard to comprehend . He began running and training for marathon running in his 50’s, Let that sink in.

How many 50 year old’s what to begin training for a marathon, well he did. He wanted to grow old and enjoy his family for as long as he could. I have the pleasure of meeting this man in 6 days, he is Jennifer’s father and sounds to me like an amazing man. I am very excited to shake the hand of a man that has impacted the woman heart that I love so deeply. As a father to daughters, i can only hope my daughters speak of me the way Jen speaks of her father.

You see, I have always struggled with my body. As a child I heard you’re too skinny, you’re too tall, I’m going to put a brick on your head so you stop growing, what did your mother feed you… You see to a skinny person, calling them skinny is exactly like calling an overweight person fat. I was 6’3 (75”) and about 165 lbs (74 kg) way less than 10% body fat for sure in high school, chicken legs, red hair, pale skin and no muscle tone to save my life.

Today I am a bit over weight in the 20-30% body fat; same height hovering right around 200 lbs (90 kg) that would be ok if it wasn’t the unhealthy fat (visceral fat)

I just want to explain my motives behind all the fitness, diet, fasting, food posts, posting workout check-ins and whatnot.

My family like many has fought and lost to cancer, heart disease and many other health related issues. WAY too many of my family members have died far too young. Genetically I can’t change my disposition, what I can change is my exercising, diet and lifestyle. Too often I see people as they get older slowly become warn out, achy, brittle and weak. If I can extend my life by a few choices now so that in the future I can take my grandchildren on vacations and enjoy it, what I’m doing today would be worth it.

I have been called crazy, addicted, self-centered, and many other things and that is ok. I’m trying to see what it is my body responds to. I’m learning that everyone is different, very different. What works for me may not work for you and my body loves to hold on to visceral fat (Belly fat) I am what you would call a skinny fat, No body fat other than my waistline (diet fat) so I study, try and experiment with things I read in search of a response I am looking for. I want to live a healthy life for as long as I can, that is why I do what I do, to look healthy, feel healthy and be here for my, well our girls and grandchildren for as long as I can and to do it as healthy as I can.

Spiritually, mentally, physically, and emotionally, I want to become the best version of myself that I can be.

Feel free to comment,

