Eventually, Everything Connects 


To start my day, got up after not sleeping much, my mind has been consumed with tomorrow. In less than 24 hours I will be on a flight to Puerto Rico with Jen, her sister and her sisters husband to meet pretty much an entire family I have only known through Facebook. I’m very excited and still nervous. 

What do I bring? Have I forgotten anyrhjng? Did I set everything for the girls up? Did I communicate well enough about everything to their mother? Will I like them? Eeek, will they like me? What if they don’t like me? What if I don’t like them?  That’s going to be a long vacation hiding in the bathroom if not.. Yeah I worry 

So I spent a little extra time at the gym and started to write, only to accidentally delete it, so pissed..

Oh well, I continue on and say to myself “must not have not meant to write that” and finished my walk. 

Came home and finished packing and had the urge to write before our trip. 

This morning didn’t begin as planned, it did start to set the tone for the day off bad, and it doesn’t have to stay that way. 

Why do we get caught in these ruts? We know they don’t always feel good yet we hold onto them like we need them. I have “more in the past” let something so simple destroy most of a day; why? 

Is it how we feed energy off one another? 

Maybe it’s so people will show us pity. Is it a pattern, a default mindset? Possibly even an addiction.. 

I think it has to do with how we are all connected. I am connected to everyone I know, and them to everyone they know. The circles overlap and are intertwined with one another.

Be like water making its way through cracks. Do not be assertive, but adjust to the object, and you shall find a way around or through it. If nothing within you stays rigid, outward things will disclose themselves. 

Empty your mind, be formless. Shapeless, like water. If you put water into a cup, it becomes the cup. You put water into a bottle and it becomes the bottle. You put it in a teapot, it becomes the teapot. Now, water can flow or it can crash. Be water, my friend. – Bruce Lee

Think of it like a wave, sometimes a wave can be smooth and calming, sometimes it’s a storm wave and destructive. There are also rocks and obstacles that part the waves path. We are no different; we all flow together. 

The stones in life are death, divorce and separations to name a few. Things that change our path, experiences that part the wave of life.

Sometimes we come back together after hitting our rocks, and sometimes the wave never meets again but will always remain as part of our original flow. 

We are all connected somehow, no matter how far you look, how deep you try to prove otherwise. I’m moving away from the turbulence of storm waves and into much calmer waters and it’s never felt so refreshing. 

Rocks in life will always happen, that is inevitable. It’s a choice how we flow around them, who we chose to join back up with and continue to flow. 

Chose wisely, we only flow for a short time until we reach our beach and are absorbed back into the earth. 

So today’s choice is to continue flowing calmly and peacefully, until my rocks come or I reach my beach. 

Feel free to comment,

