What is This (IF) Thing…


what-is

Due to the questions on Social Media I felt it was only appropriate to also share in Real Life under my (War on Sugar) topic.

The basics idea behind intermittent fasting (IF)

Society (food industry mostly it’s a money maker you know) has us believing a few things that are not exactly helping weight loss and the maintenance of our weight. It seems money is more important than our health these days.

Here are a few things we believe to be true

3 square meals a day, breakfast is the most important, why not try many little meals a day (5-8), snacking here and there to stay away from “starvation mode” and literally 100s of other ideas that may not be working. I’m not saying this is going to fix anything, however for me its working.

We this never lets our body fully digest and process the food before shoving more food in creating a high blood glycogen level and using our food as fuel.

Our body is not designed to use food “glycogen” as fuel. It’s designed to run off of fat and LOVES to use fat as fuel actually. When you eat it fuels your body, the unused “food” then gets stored as fuel for later usually as more fat, and so on and so on this fat (visceral fat) can be called the “spill over affect” and that’s why we are fat! We eat too much food all day and are not able to utilize it properly so it gets stored.

Think about this, back in the day before we had 24/7 food availability and became grazer eaters, eating anytime we wanted we hunted and gathered food. There was no obesity and many other weight related issues.

Basically here’s the idea.

It’s called an eating window and fasting window and there are many ways and times you can choose, it’s really whatever you want. Some of the plans are 16/8, 18/6, 20/4 or any other time that fits into a 24 hour window. It’s really up to you and is 100% flexible.

Here is what I do!

I stop eating at 7PM every night (sometimes 5 or 6 depending on how hungry I am) and I don’t eat until 11AM or (16ish hours from time I stopped eating) this is my fasting window. I eat normal from 11am – 7PM but I do eat fairly healthy, YES, heck yes I love food.

hangry

 

I do drink alcohol from time to time, I also eat fast food sometimes, and I’m still human! To be  honest I’m really not hungry most of the time now that my body has adjusted.

No special diet, but the difference is my body has a time of rest from food and that lets my body recover and reset its food digestion process, after 6-8 hours of fasting my body (and yours) switches over to burn stored fat as its fuel source.

This lets my body almost reach a Ketogenic (running off fat not stored food) and it starts to burn my fat not use my food as fuel.

I started about 2 weeks ago, skipping here and there also went on vacation and, well let’s say I indulged in living and I am losing weight at a good rate.

I began at 197 lbs. (89 kg) at the beginning of the year and I’m 190 lbs. (86 kg) today and I am beginning to see visible abs. I do lift, I do fasted cardio and my strength and muscle gains are not affected. My body is responding to this VERY well.

I really believe this is a miracle lifestyle and there is no limit to the length of time someone can (IF), I know people that have done it for years.

There are some rules…

During your fast, no food, no creamers in coffee or tea (black coffee or tea), zero calorie drinks are ok, NO SUGAR!!! Water, lots of water, no “Bulletproof” coffee, WATER is the best! There are some controversy on BCAA (branch chain amino acids) so I try to stay away from them but I do take my zero calorie Pre-Workout.

I know this is long.. I’m a little excited about this! I have been struggling for YEARS, diet after diet nothing worked, well this is working and is SO easy!

Please YouTube Intermittent Fasting (IF) and watch videos, contact me or read about it. don’t take my word for it, do your own research. I’m no expert, I only know how well its working for me.

Feel free to comment,

