What is Your Value, is it Less Than What You are Worth?


value

Life is a series of lessons, some we learn from and can move past, some can change who we become and some change the path of our futures. I have found in most cases the “lesson” itself is not where the learning occurs. Its the time after the lesson that we truly learn, its in how we get up after we fall, how we respond to those around us and how or in some cases “if” we move on that makes the lesson positive or negative.

I’m at a point in my life where I see my value, and not based off of how others think of me or treat me. I can now tell myself “I have what I need and I am fully equipped to control my happiness”. So if you are in my life I want it to be by choice not out of habit, necessity or obligation. Do not feel sorry for the things that have happened to me in my life, I can see the silver lining in so many tragic events and they have made me who I am today. I wouldn’t give that up for anything in the world.

Through the struggles I have faced I found myself, and If you chose to be a part of my life you are also free to leave at any time. I am not saying this with malice in my heart or as a threat, I want to allow freedom in choices as my friends, family and loved ones.

Love allows your beloved the freedom to be unlike you.
Attachment asks for conformity to your needs and desires.
Love imposes no demands.
Attachment expresses an overwhelming demand – “Make me feel whole.”
Love expands beyond the limits of two people.
Attachment tries to exclude everything but two people.
– Deepak Chopra

By finding my self-worth it has encouraged a feeling of confidence that have not felt and is also incredibly freeing. If I treat others how I wish to be treated, with kindness, empathy, honesty and respect and they fail to reciprocate on a regular basis that has nothing to do with me but everything to do with them. The same is true for those who can reciprocate, and those are the people I choose to keep in my life.

At the age of 36 I can finally say I’m happy with myself. I’m not content staying where I am, there’s always room to grow. I am at a place I have never been in my life and it feels amazing.

Feel free to comment,

