Take Time to Feel The Sun and Smell The Air


IMG_20160826_185212.jpg

Does driving by a sun covered cornfield make you smile a little inside; does the smell of someone mowing the lawn bring joy to your life? Or do you fail to even notice the corn or the fresh cut grass?

“If the sight of the blue skies fills you with joy,
if a blade of grass springing up in the fields has power to move you,
if the simple things in nature have a message you understand,
Rejoice, for your soul is alive”.
– Eleanora Duse

So much of life is a rush, a race to the next thing, to the next appointment, the next event for your children or are you chasing after something, money, a career, that new car or the new house. I have lost focus many times in my life and I always enjoy returning to peace. For me that is what spring and summer here in Michigan do for me, it shows me to appreciate the sun not curse it, to treasure the feeling of rain from time to time not complain for being wet, and to let the rumble of thunder calm me not create anxiety.

I feel its time again to slow down a little in life, take the back roads, set cruse and relax a little while driving and resist the temptation to race from one thing to the next. Life is much more enjoyable when you take time to notice the beauty around.

It’s amazing what you can feel when you take time to look and slow down enough to smell the air.

 “Those who find beauty in all of nature will find themselves at one with the secrets of life itself”. – L. Wolfe Gilbert

I know my natural tendency is to drift back and forth from relaxing and enjoying the calm times to rushing from one meeting to the next, from enjoying cooking and eating to insisting we hurry and eat dinner to get the next thing.

Part of me is screaming “I have to plan, I need to make sure everything has been covered” and the other part is calmly whispering “enjoy your time and your little girls”. One day they will be busy and struggling to balance the time in their lives and may not have the time to spend with us like they do now.

That is one of my biggest fears in life; that one day my girls will have to schedule time with me. What if one day I’m not high enough on their list of priorities to see as much as I would like? To me that is the reason its so important to build a deep and loving relationship with my children while they are young and not rush to get them independent. I’m seeing that time will come soon enough without any help.

Tomorrow we are planning to take the girls on a trip to upper Michigan and spend some time together in nature. I am so excited to see such a truly beautiful place with the girls, and its always nice to get away from the big city life once in a while. It is a favorite place of mine, and if you have never been to Northern Michigan I highly recommend seeing it once in your life. It is a place like no other and has the ability to move me emotionally.

Its times we spend together like these that cannot be replaced and will create the depth of our relationships.

Feel free to comment,

