The Flavor of the Day


Hello, I am Scott and I’m addicted to diets. Ok, now that I got that out if the way. I feel I may be a little more addicted to labeling and structure than diets. 

Tell me if this sounds familiar.

I had a Greek yogurt, a black coffee and an egg for breakfast. For lunch I had a salad with the perfect amount of grilled chicken. My mid day snack was a 1/2 A cup of almonds. When I got home from work I ate the entire kitchen and cleaned out the leftovers from the fridge“.. 

That’s what is referd to as a crash diet.. 

I am totally frustrated with the word “diet” and seeing that no matter which direction you turn there is something that is limited or with some diets completely off limits. I began Intermittent Fasting about a year ago, and still absolutely love it and do it daily, I do not consider that a diet. 

I began what’s called the “Keto diet” about 3 months ago and I really messed up in the first couple weeks making the adaptation period less than pleasurable. I finally reached what’s called Ketosis and that is where my fat loss took a huge change. I was dropping about 2 – 3 lbs a week without trying. It was very surprising to say the least. Quickly dropping body fat and increasing energy. You could say, “so what’s the problem” well, nothing, other than I wasn’t enjoying the limited food I was able to consume. I really missed fruit, as in the kind of missing that caused dreaming about bananas. 

So over the last few days I have started to look into other eating habits that may include fruit and I came across something that appealed to my love for healthy eating, it’s the Palio diet..  

Great Scott’s on another diet. Not so fast! 

No, I’m not starting it, for once in my life I’m not going to rely on so much structure and guidelines. I realized I have to put a label on it, and I have to label most things in my life now that I think about it. I crave structure and rules, guidelines and black and white thinking. 

Well, what if I didn’t follow a diet or a way of eating and took complete responsibility to not label my fitness or diet.

So what did no really eat today.

I fasted from 6pm last night until noon today (like most days) and lunch was at a fantastic local Mexican resteraunt of ours. I had a non-diet, non-keto lunch with my girlfriend for the first time in while and it was great. 

Fat loss is so simple, burn more calories than you consume and understand what Carbs, Fats and Proteins are only helps. So today I’m giving up on saying “diet” and taking responsibility and action for the way I eat. We complicate so many things by adding stipulations and in some cases unreasonable expectations on things in our lives. 

As I finish up my 5 mile walk before the gym I hope that if you are reading this and you began the Keto diet because of me please do not stop unless you want to. I do think that it has amazing benifts it’s just not something I desire to do long term.

Again, consistency is far more important than the diet you choose, the workout program you do or the gym you have a membership to. 

Find what works for you, and find internal motivation to be the best version of yourself that you can be. 

Feel free to comment,

